Every day I get gifts from my grandchicks.  Some of them are coffee brown, some are darker, and some are a pinkish beige.  They are all delicious with a firm golden yolk, tender white and are protected by a hard shell.  People have asked me if the fresh eggs taste different from store bought.  The answer is that they have a milder, cleaner taste but it is more notable that they never develop the rubbery texture that I get frying the store brand.

It was a surprise to me that eggs can remain unrefrigerated for at least days as long as they are not washed because of a protective (and invisible) coating.  It’s very exciting to pick one up and feel its warmth!

A very special gift today was the viewing you will see below.  The starring chicken is one of our Barred Plymouth Rocks.

