Thursday night was stormy in Delaware, OH with rain and not-quite-howling wind.  It wasn’t enough to nudge me awake, but the noise did poke at me a couple of times, such that I knew the storm had happened.  But today I have a new standard for judging wind:  whether it is strong enough to shake the door of the chicken coop/run enough to open the latch.  Thursday night it was!

A few minutes before we needed to leave for a day of hiking in the Hocking Hills, I looked out the kitchen window and saw a flock of large birds under a maple tree.  My first thought was that we had some wild turkeys visiting, which has happened a few times before.  Then, I realized that they were our girls gone wild!  I yelled to my co-farmer and out we went to round them up, with no idea how that would go.  (We have only kept them in the coop/run so far.)   Luckily, I thought to keep the pugs inside.
The hens were awesome!  It was so much fun to watch them waddling in the lawn and garden, digging in the mulch, running around. (I might have been less happy if it was spring, the mulch was new, and the garden just planted!)  And, one of the best parts was that they just eagerly followed me right into their coop/run….and I rewarded them with lots of dried mealworms.  Yummm.
Our hikes at Old Man’s Cave and Ash Cave were awesome, too.  It was one of the last days with color on the trees, and a perfect temperature for a t-shirt and light jacket.  We enjoyed an escape even more than the grandchickens!
